One week ago Cincinnati police officer Sonny Kim lost his life in the line of
duty. While I did not know him or his family, I cried like a fucking
baby when I found out he died. Mostly because what happened to him, is
my worst nightmare. That's right, I married a cop..the ole 5-0, the pig
himself. I signed up to be a police officers wife but I had ZERO idea
of what it would entail.
Most
of my officer's stories are hilarious. They make for excellent
conversation pieces at dinners, weddings, or at any party. In fact, he's
even thought of writing a book of all of the ridiculous and incredible
stories on the runs he has been sent on.We will see about that. Don't forget that I can also take adorable pictures.
But then there's the shitty stuff. The real shitty stuff.
For instance, once he saw a man take his own life by shooting himself
in head. He watched his brain matter fly all over the street. Once he
was bitten by a stray vicious dog that literally tried to eat his arm.
He had to shoot it. He loves dogs. This broke his heart.
Overall, he's been kicked, punched and spit on..a lot. Do you get
punched or spit on at your job? That's never happened to me in any job
I've ever had. In fact, if that happened to me, I would have probably
quit..
He goes into disgusting
nasty ass houses on a daily basis. I know when he comes home and opens
the garage door that he needs to strip down and wash his uniform ASAP bc
he went through a bed bug ridden home. We sure as hell don't want bed
bugs at our house. He went into a home recently where the dogs that the
homeowners had were never let outside and the smell of dog shit and piss
was so overwhelming, he almost threw up.
When he hears gun fire, he has to run toward it. He's had people put guns in his face.
He works most weekends and almost all holidays. 10 hour shifts, all through the night that sometimes don't end because after his shift, he has to then go to the courthouse for his cases.
Guys, this is real life. This is our lives.
And after all the shit he puts up with every day. He goes back to work
on a day to day basis. He loves it. It is his calling. Probably like
most of the other law enforcement officers out there.
That's why it fucking sucks that he had to watch one of his brothers be
laid to rest today. I was there too. It was the most beautiful yet
tragic thing I've ever witnessed. My eyes streamed with tears from time I
heard the first note from the bagpipes to the very end.
The burial was
exceptionally hard when they did his last call over the radio. Watching
my husbands eyes well up with tears is something I will never forget, and
I hope I never have to see again. While the casket was brought up to
the burial site, the heavens opened up and it poured...I can't even
remotely tell you how hard it was raining...Not one officer moved.
They
stood at attention and listened to the last goodbyes to Officer Kim. It
was almost like God was helping mask the tears coming down their faces.
What I witnessed today was almost indescribable. There were really high
points and really low points. The law enforcement family is nothing
short of amazing. I saw officers from New York City, all over Ohio,
Kentucky and even Pittsburgh. Cincinnati and Pittsburgh "hate" each
other..But today they didn't.
What amazed me though is to see how many don't hate law enforcement...
How many people just came to pay their respects and show the officers
and the family how much they really do respect the badge.
I
hope this is my last police funeral I attend, but I'm glad I got to
witness it and I am glad to be a part of the Cincinnati Police Department.
Even if it's just as a police wife.
Rest Peacefully, Officer Kim
Friday, June 26, 2015
Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Confessions of a Toddler Soccer Dropout
As parents we do activities and go to events because we think "the kids will
have so much fun!" But in actuality, they bitch and moan and want no
part of it. For instance, I signed JB up for soccer. It's not real
soccer, but they practice with a ball and play little kid games.When I signed him up, he was about to turn 2 and I thought he would love it. I must tell you that there are not many soccer programs for toddlers. Maybe two in the area. There is definitely a reason for that... BECAUSE 2 YEAR OLDS ARE TOOOO YOUNG FOR THAT SHIT!!!
The officer and I go to our first day of soccer and it was not fucking fun at all. First off, he was going through this " I just want my mommy" stage so when the officer took him out onto the field with the other kids, he just ran back to where I was and whined...So..okay fine, I go in. Mind you though, I did not dress properly to be playing fucking toddler soccer.
Well, I learned very quickly that he didn't give a shit about what game we were playing. Some of them he loved, and some of them he just screamed through, or ran to the other side of the field. It was so.damn.exhausting. and chaotic. I felt completely like my kid was only one who wasn't doing what he was suppose to be doing. I look over at the officer and he was dealing with the twins who were screaming. I yell over to him to just take the twins out to the van and try and feed them/change diapers. Guys, this was the longest 47 minutes ever. During the games, I just wanted it to be over. Finally, FINALLY, it was done.
I get out to the van and immediately, I'm thinking, "Ahhh, it wasn't that bad...We can do this for 11 more weeks." The officer however, thought it was terrible and decided that he probably wouldn't be returning. shit.
Now in the officer's defense, he works overnights fighting crime. Soccer was 11am on Saturdays and it was hard to get up for. Soo in the next few weeks, I recruit my mother to go with me because I needed someone to watch the twins on the sidelines while I dealt with the soccer bullshit happening on the field. After a few weeks, of skipping soccer because she couldn't go or driving the 30 minutes up to soccer..(oh yeah, did i mention it was 30 minutes away?) I decided I didn't give a damn anymore. I was done. So I quit going. My sanity was worth more than the $136 it cost. He clearly didn't love the games we were playing. He wanted to run the field.Hell, we could that in our back yard or at the park down the street. Fuck it. Nope. I'm done. Maybe I am dick/jerk/asshole for quitting..I can handle it..We will try again when he gets older.
BUT we got a t-shirt. Here are some pics of his $136 t-shirt...and you can tell how happy he was to go to soccer...
He can wear this damn t-shirt everyday for the rest of his life... Sorry kid.
The officer and I go to our first day of soccer and it was not fucking fun at all. First off, he was going through this " I just want my mommy" stage so when the officer took him out onto the field with the other kids, he just ran back to where I was and whined...So..okay fine, I go in. Mind you though, I did not dress properly to be playing fucking toddler soccer.
Well, I learned very quickly that he didn't give a shit about what game we were playing. Some of them he loved, and some of them he just screamed through, or ran to the other side of the field. It was so.damn.exhausting. and chaotic. I felt completely like my kid was only one who wasn't doing what he was suppose to be doing. I look over at the officer and he was dealing with the twins who were screaming. I yell over to him to just take the twins out to the van and try and feed them/change diapers. Guys, this was the longest 47 minutes ever. During the games, I just wanted it to be over. Finally, FINALLY, it was done.
I get out to the van and immediately, I'm thinking, "Ahhh, it wasn't that bad...We can do this for 11 more weeks." The officer however, thought it was terrible and decided that he probably wouldn't be returning. shit.
Now in the officer's defense, he works overnights fighting crime. Soccer was 11am on Saturdays and it was hard to get up for. Soo in the next few weeks, I recruit my mother to go with me because I needed someone to watch the twins on the sidelines while I dealt with the soccer bullshit happening on the field. After a few weeks, of skipping soccer because she couldn't go or driving the 30 minutes up to soccer..(oh yeah, did i mention it was 30 minutes away?) I decided I didn't give a damn anymore. I was done. So I quit going. My sanity was worth more than the $136 it cost. He clearly didn't love the games we were playing. He wanted to run the field.Hell, we could that in our back yard or at the park down the street. Fuck it. Nope. I'm done. Maybe I am dick/jerk/asshole for quitting..I can handle it..We will try again when he gets older.
BUT we got a t-shirt. Here are some pics of his $136 t-shirt...and you can tell how happy he was to go to soccer...
He can wear this damn t-shirt everyday for the rest of his life... Sorry kid.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)





