Sunday, July 26, 2015

I'm done parenting at 7pm.

 Or at least I wish I was.

Just like any other job I've ever had, there's a point in the day when I am just done, finished, over it.. Being a stay at home mom is no different. That time hits me almost every day at 7pm. T-minus one hour until bedtime.. Do I get to quit working at 7pm!?! Shit no. AND usually from 6-7pm, all of my babies drive me up a damn wall. That's when they are a fucking shit show and I become a hot damn mess...for whatever reason that hour is when everyone is hungry, angry, whiny and bitchy. This is not fun people. This is when I lose my shit and think, WHY CANT YOU ALL JUST LEAVE ME THE HELL ALONE! If I thought I could get away with putting my kids all to bed at 7pm, you better believe me that I would totally do it.  I keep them up til 8pm and then BAM, bed time for all! Good fucking night, kiddos! Mama needs a drink. *sigh*
Or maybe the toddler needs a drink..


Before I get to that part of my glorious night, I have to deal with the shit show...
So instead, I take a deep breath and start feeding the troops. The toddler, the officer, and now the twins. Yup that's right, the twins are now eating half ass people food. You know, that purée shit. I had forgot how messy babies can be. Purée everywhere..hair, ears, up their noses. It's a real bitch but somehow I get through it. 





Full stomachs equal sleepy babies. Sleepy babies equal soon to be quiet time.  Quiet time is what I look forward to every night. Quiet time also sometimes means mama drinks a beer.

So back to the purée shit for a minute. I did something this time around that I never thought I would do. I tried making my own baby food. If you would have asked me a couple of years ago if I would be making my own baby food, I would have probably laughed in your face with a big old "heeellll no". Actually, the thought of making my own food, kinda scared the shit out of me. I don't know but it sounded overwhelming as hell!

I learned that Its really not. 

Let me also say that if you are a mom who chooses to feed your child baby food from the store, you are 100% A-okay in my book! You are not lazy, you are not doing anything wrong. Do I do it because I want to be healthy? Fuck no. Do I do it because I have a lot of extra time? Fuck no. Did I want to win the infamous "mommy of the year award"? Fuck no. Do I do it because it's actually a lot cheaper than buying the store made shit and I am feeding two little snot rockets? Yup!!

I checked out pinterest where everything is butterflies and bullshit rainbows to see how the mommy's of the internet make their baby food. I pinned a couple of easy recipes and gave it a go. Honestly, its pretty easy to do but its real messy which those bitches on the internet obviously don't talk about..SO MANY FUCKING DISHES...
more fucking dishes to deal with...


broken ass ice cube trays...
My other concern was, would my little shits eat the food I made? Guess what? They did! My time and energy was not wasted! WOOO HOOO 


That being said, what will I do now? I decided I'll do a mix of the store bought shit and make some of my own shit. It's just easier that way and also still slightly cheaper..It's pretty much the best of both worlds and I don't really prefer one way over the other.