Sunday, September 14, 2014

The GD test

Probably not the same GD that most non pregnant people would think of... I'm talking about the gestational diabetes test that all prego women have to do once they hit the 24ish week of pregnancy.

The test is actually pretty simple. Most women go in and drink some sugary/syrupy orange flavored concoction and then get their blood drawn. Then they sit for an hour and get their blood drawn a second time and go home! Easy peasy.

Now if you fail that test (which lots of women do)... You have to go back do 3 hour test. Same type of deal, drink syrupy shit, get blood drawn every hour for three hours. It's definitely not a hard test, just slightly boring.

So, other than my close friends and family, most people don't know that I had gestational diabetes with JB. It took a one hour test and two 3 hour tests for me to be diagnosed... With this, I was put on a low carb diet and had to take a half a pill every night in order to keep my sugar levels down... Due to my late diagnosis, I ended up having a borderline 10 lb baby... Luckily he still came out cute :)

Since I had the diabetus with JB, I was one of those lucky ones who tested early in my pregnancy to see if I had it again. Thankfully, 15 weeks I was GD free! But that meant I had to another 3 hour test when I turned 24 weeks.. 

Can you guess how I spent last Wednesday? Yup, taking the 3 hour test. I'm damn pro at this point. So here are some quick tips if you ever find ourself having to do the 3 hour test.

-The sugary syrupy orange shit isn't as bad as some people say it is. chug it. chug it fast.

-bring water. 

-bring a friend, or your mom. I made my mom sit with me and it was all the difference in the
world.

-bring an ipad and ask the office chick for the wifi password. this is a gamechanger.

-bring a couple of magazines.. just for a little change when facebook gets old.
Remember all these things it will make a world of difference when you have to sit there for half day!

So, now to the obvious next question. Did I pass? Hell no. I figured I wouldn't. This week I will start the low carb diet again. oh well.

In other news, we bought a minivan! We went with a 2014 Chrysler Town & Country. its prettttyyy.

 
Haters can hate on my mini but this thing is sweet. TWO tvs in it, all of the seats go into the floor, navigation, and I even have a heated steering wheel. Plus, I can fit all of the 800 kids I am going to have. I win.
 
 
Finally, I will leave you with another bump pic! This is my 25 weeks and counting pic....

another creepy bathroom bump pic