The test is actually pretty simple. Most women go in and drink some sugary/syrupy orange flavored concoction and then get their blood drawn. Then they sit for an hour and get their blood drawn a second time and go home! Easy peasy.
Now if you fail that test (which lots of women do)... You have to go back do 3 hour test. Same type of deal, drink syrupy shit, get blood drawn every hour for three hours. It's definitely not a hard test, just slightly boring.
So, other than my close friends and family, most people don't know that I had gestational diabetes with JB. It took a one hour test and two 3 hour tests for me to be diagnosed... With this, I was put on a low carb diet and had to take a half a pill every night in order to keep my sugar levels down... Due to my late diagnosis, I ended up having a borderline 10 lb baby... Luckily he still came out cute :)
Since I had the diabetus with JB, I was one of those lucky ones who tested early in my pregnancy to see if I had it again. Thankfully, 15 weeks I was GD free! But that meant I had to another 3 hour test when I turned 24 weeks..
Can you guess how I spent last Wednesday? Yup, taking the 3 hour test. I'm damn pro at this point. So here are some quick tips if you ever find ourself having to do the 3 hour test.
-The sugary syrupy orange shit isn't as bad as some people say it is. chug it. chug it fast.
-bring water.
-bring a friend, or your mom. I made my mom sit with me and it was all the difference in the
world.
-bring an ipad and ask the office chick for the wifi password. this is a gamechanger.
-bring a couple of magazines.. just for a little change when facebook gets old.
Remember all these things it will make a world of difference when you have to sit there for half day!
So, now to the obvious next question. Did I pass? Hell no. I figured I wouldn't. This week I will start the low carb diet again. oh well.
In other news, we bought a minivan! We went with a 2014 Chrysler Town & Country. its prettttyyy.
Haters can hate on my mini but this thing is sweet. TWO tvs in it, all of the seats go into the floor, navigation, and I even have a heated steering wheel. Plus, I can fit all of the 800 kids I am going to have. I win.
Finally, I will leave you with another bump pic! This is my 25 weeks and counting pic....
![]() |
| another creepy bathroom bump pic |


No comments:
Post a Comment