Saturday, December 19, 2015

Well shit. I've got diabetes.

True story. No bit zone. At the ripe age of 32, I've been diagnosed with type two diabetes.  Now let's back track...

 It started back around my birthday on October 22. I noticed that I was peeing a lot more than normal.. How often? About every hour and a half... Trust me, you notice when you start feeling like you have to pee all the time.. I also noticed I was so damn thirsty that all I wanted to do was drink gallons of water for hours!  Seriously, it was a really weird annoying as hell, feeling..Now these two things, didn't make me think that I had diabetes+... but then I also noticed that I had lost a little weight... So I did a little bit of an experiment. I ate like complete shit for about a week. And I lost 4 lbs. These were all red flags but I was still in a bit of denial and hoped it was all a fluke. I mean, I felt fine. Other than those three symptoms, I would say I felt healthy and normal.

Fast forward 6 weeks.

I was now down 20 lbs without any dieting and I was still peeing. A. LOT. I couldn't ignore it anymore so I searched for my blood sugar testing stuff from when I had gestational diabetes. With a simple prick of the finger, I confirmed my fear. My numbers should have been under 90. Guess what it was? 304. Shit. I've got diabetes.

I cried. I felt too young for this crap. I knew I had to go to the doctor asap.
I went to the doctor the week after thanksgiving where I was given the medical professional confirmation of the diagnosis I already knew.
I went home that night and saw a pizza menu in the trash and I cried again.  


You are probably wandering how in the hell this happened? Well, the simple answer is pregnancy and fucking genetics. Ain't that a bitch?

Now I'm on medication to get my blood sugar down and I've taken on a low carb diet. I'll go back in three months to see if my pill cocktail needs to be changed. 


Now the initial shock is completely over and I'm okay with how I need to eat and taking my pills. I'm not sad anymore and I'm dealing with it everyday. Right now, I don't miss all my bad favorite foods that I used to enjoy regularly.. Well, hell, who I am I kidding? Of course I do but it's getting better :) I DO miss you deep dish pizza and brownies! 

So that's all I have for you today. Next update will be a recap of the twins bday. Hopefully, sometime this week.  Now go on to your Christmas parties tonight and eat millions of fucking Christmas cookies and think about me while you do it!

1 comment: